Bumpin’ Uglies ‘Keep It Together’ album review

Keep It Together is the upcoming LP from Annapolis, Maryland’s Bumpin Uglies, showcasing the band’s ethereal ska/punk/reggae melodies and infectious hooks. Following on from their Better.Faster.Stronger EP in 2016, Bumpin Uglies seem to cover all the spectrums of music you’d hope to find in an album. These guys can hammer down but they also show a desire to expand the horizons of the style. It shows the band can marry hooks with a heavy vibe and squeeze them into one elegant package.

Vocalist Brandon Hardesty has a very even tone that gives a lot of life to every track. A strong rhythm section has his backing, and the production quality is flawless and tight. “Stop The Fall” is just one of the stand out tracks from the album. It’s beautifully edgy and includes some amazing guitar riffs that overall make it a solid go-to track.

These guys can hammer down but they also show a desire to expand the horizons of the style.

Musically Keep It Together brings the angst and emotion filled punches that you’d expect from a ska/punk/reggae album, but with an elevated and mature tone. The overall tone differs from song to song nicely without breaking a rhythm which gives the album a rounded, cohesiveness without being disjointed. 

When speaking about the album, front man Hardesty says, “The new record Is the culmination of the last 8 years of my life. It’s a collection of stories about touring as an independent band, but told in a way that is applicable to every day life. There are songs about long drives, financial uncertainty, lost friendships, relationships, and panic attacks,” adds Hardesty. “It’s a mixture of ska/punk, reggae/rock, and dub, but with a darkness to it that isn’t usually found in the genre.”

Bumpin Uglies will be supporting Ballyhoo! on their east coast tour dates this fall. Check the dates below for a show near you!

Preview and download Keep It Together on

Track listing

  1. All In
  2. Snowflake
  3. Sorry I’m Not Sorry
  4. Stop The Fall
  5. End
  6. Hipster Douchebag
  7. Urination Citation
  8. Place Your Bets
  9. Load In_load Out
  10. Rules Be Damned
  11. Keep Movin
  12. All That I Need

Bumpin Uglies “Stop The Fall” official video

Links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website
Release Date: September 9, 2016 • Copyright: © 2016 Right Coast Records

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for Bumpin uglies

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments