Tommee Profitt presents ‘The Birth of a King’ holiday album

Tommee Profitt presents ‘The Birth of a King’ holiday album

Highly-respected producer, songwriter and award-winning composer Tommee Profitt has the perfect ingredient to make your socially-distanced winter season immensely more epic. His high-concept, cinematic holiday album The Birth of a King is now available, featuring artists such as internationally-acclaimed singer/songwriter Avril Lavigne, celebrated pop-rock musician Tauren Wells, talented R&B artist Stanaj and singer/songwriter Chris Tomlin, among many others. The album, released via Capitol CMG, delves into a realm of holiday music that is sure to stand out as a unique, genre-bending collection. It simply wipes the floor with the tired, traditional Christmas tracks that usually clutter our eardrums year after year. From the very start of the album, the first track “O Come O Come Emmanuel” makes you feel like this is a little different…. definitely not the same vibes as your normal holiday album. This might take on a life of its own very quickly. Incredibly powerful vocals mixed with the thunder of timpanis lead you through an array of choir voices, echoing gorgeously through church halls and accompanied by the sounds of traditional pipe organs. For a split second, you forget what’s coming… and then it begins. 

‘The Birth of a King’ is entirely self-produced and took 15 long years to come together; it only took a pandemic and lockdowns to help wrap things up.

“It turned out to be the hardest and most exciting thing I’ve ever worked on and quarantine finally gave me the time to make it happen,” Profitt said of the new record. “I wanted to make a Christmas album that sounds like an epic movie soundtrack, with 808s, a gospel choir and all these incredible singers.” And, epic he achieved! It’s an eclectic collection of gripping, awe-inspiring, majestic tracks that highlight Profitt’s unbridled musicality, cinematic production sensibilities and signature genre-warping sound.

For the album’s third track, “Noel (He Is Born)”, Tommee teamed up with R&B artist Stanaj, who expressed his enjoyment of being chosen to work on this particular project. “I’m beyond excited to be part of such a special project. When Tommee called me, I knew he had something really special,” said Stanaj. “The goal was to make the best version of the song… and I think he did just that. This cinematic take on a Christmas classic makes it even more beautiful than ever… I can’t wait for everyone to hear it.” The Birth of a King also features vocal talents like Avril Lavigne, whose previous experience with Tommee made working together on her favorite type of music a no-brainer. “After having worked with Tommee on a few other projects, he reached out to me about making a Christmas album,” said the pop singer. “I was so excited to participate, because Christmas music is my favorite and Tommee’s epic, cinematic, orchestral approach to production absolutely does this classic music genre justice. ‘What Child is This’ has been a particular favorite of mine since childhood and our version of it turned out so well!”

The cinematic movie-soundtrack feel Tommee was going for is undoubtedly present across this entire album.

Profitt’s skill at creating epic soundscapes that truly engulf the listener only goes to show why he has reached the level of respect and admiration he has across the entire music industry. To quote Tauren Wells, who absolutely kills a duet with SVRCINA on “O Holy Night” — “Nobody’s ready!!” 

Purchase or stream ‘The Birth of a King’ album:

Track listing:

  1. O Come O Come Emmanuel
  2. We Three Kings, feat. We The Kingdom
  3. Noel (He Is Born), feat. Stanaj
  4. Go Tell It On The Mountain, feat. Crowder
  5. O Come All Ye Faithful, feat. Sarah Reeves
  6. Joy To The World 2 (He Is Come), feat. Clark Beckham
  7. O Holy Night, feat. Tauren Wells & SVRCINA
  8. Away In A Manger, feat. DANIEL SAINT BLACK & Ruelle
  9. What Child Is This?, feat. Avril Lavigne
  10. Silent Night, feat. Fleurie
  11. Angels We Have Heard on High, feat. Nicole Serrano
  12. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear, feat. Brooke
  13. O Little Town Of Bethlehem, feat. Rachael Lampa
  14. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  15. Mary Did You Know?, feat. Jordan Smith
  16. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, feat. Kari Jobe
  17. He Is Born (Reprise), feat. Fleurie & Chris Tomlin

Tommee Profitt – “O Holy Night” feat. Tauren Wells & SVRCINA official video:

Cover photo by Nolan Knight

Links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for tommee profitt

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments