Daft Punk announces plans to reissue ‘Random Access Memories’ despite parting ways in 2021

Daft Punk announces plans to reissue ‘Random Access Memories’ despite parting ways in 2021

On February 22nd, multi Grammy Award-winning and legendary electronic-funk duo Daft Punk released a surprising statement, announcing a 10 year anniversary reissue of Random Access Memories. The extended edition features 9 songs of unreleased music with a total runtime of 35 minutes and is set to be released on May 12, 2023.

Coincidentally on February 22nd, 2021, Daft Punk members Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo issued an announcement stating that the band will be discontinuing, featuring a video epilogue and a graphic showing the beginning and end dates of “1993-2021” with an image of the iconic robotic hands joining together.

Fans were heartbroken by the sudden news.

The original release of Random Access Memories in 2013 was the last official work that the duo released before disbanding.

Since then, Daft Punk accounts have kept a steady social media presence, issuing a 25th anniversary rerelease of Homework, as well as several behind-the-scenes photos and clips of music videos and live concerts. Bangalter also announced a new solo LP, Mythologies, an independent orchestral piece score commissioned for the French ballet of the same name. This is the first post-Daft Punk work for either Bangalter or Homem-Christo.

‘New unreleased music’ is something that Daft Punk fans thought they would never hear again. Random Access Memories (10th Anniversary Edition) can be pre-ordered here.

  1. Give Life Back to Music
  2. The Game of Love
  3. Giorgio by Moroder
  4. Within
  5. Instant Crush ft. Julian Casablancas
  6. Lose Yourself to Dance ft. Pharrell Williams
  7. Touch ft. Paul Williams
  8. Get Lucky ft. Pharrell Williams and Nile Rogers
  9. Beyond
  10. Motherboard
  11. Fragments of Time ft. Todd Edwards
  12. Doin’ It Right ft. Panda Bear
  13. Contact

Extended Tracks:

  1. Horizon Ouverture
  2. Horizon (Japan CD)
  3. GLBTM (Studio Outtakes)
  4. Infinity Repeating (2013 Demo)
  5. GL (Early Take)
  6. Prime (2012 Unfinished)
  7. LYTD (Vocoder Tests)
  8. The Writing of Fragments of Time
  9. Touch (2021 Epilogue)

Share this article


Become a Patron

Tour dates for Daft Punk

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments