Slightly Stoopid to release 8th album

The San Diego boys of Slightly Stoopid are at it again – all set to release their eighth studio album Meanwhile… Back at the Lab come June 30th. With comic book style cover art, the LP's title alludes to the oasis of home-life after what seems like a never-ending stint on the road. “The lab”, located within Stoopid's own recording studio, is a warehouse space designated for band practice and collaboration and that's exactly what composes their new album: artist synergy and the results of recording spur-of-the-moment jam sessions. The collaborative effort began late in 2012 following Stoopid's Top of the World album release and includes not only multiple guest performances, but several locations outside of Stoopid Records such as Platinum Sound in New York, Rivas Studio in Los Angeles and Mixdown Town LBC in Long Beach. Produced by the band in cooperation with their in-house mixing aficionado James Wisner, the album stands as yet another installment of the band's ongoing original sound – bending the barriers of bluegrass with reggae with rock with hip hop with pop, etc. Any given Stoopid fan will be pleased with the result.

the album stands as yet another installment of the band's ongoing original sound

The fifteen-track LP is already available to pre-order on iTunes and for the fans who don't want to wait until late June, there is an instant download for the track “Life Rolls On” to tide them over. Since Meanwhile… Back at the Lab is an homage to downtime in between tours, Slightly Stoopid is naturally planning to embark on their “Everything is Awesome” Summer 2015 tour immediately following its release. The tour begins July 8th, hitting 40+ outside amphitheaters around the nation alongside the Dirty Heads and – depending on the city – The Expendables or Stick Figure before wrapping up September 19th. With festivals such as California Roots, Kaboo, Outside Lands, Wakarusa and the LOCKN’ Festival also in the mix: get ready to get Stoopid, America.

Pre-order Meanwhile… Back at the Lab on

Meanwhile… Back at the Lab track listing

  1. Dabbington
  2. This Version
  3. The Prophet
  4. Hold It Down
  5. Fades Away
  6. F*ck You
  7. Time Won’t Wait
  8. Rolling Stone
  9. Guns In Paradise
  10. Come Around
  11. Call Me Crazy
  12. One Bright Day
  13. Life Rolls On
  14. What Your Friends Say
  15. Armas De Fuego En El Paraiso (iTunes exclusive track)

Share this article


Become a Patron

Tour dates for Slightly Stoopid

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments