Cas Haley ‘More Music More Family’ album review

The wise teacher and philosopher Confucius once said, “It doesn’t matter how slow you go, as long as you don’t stop.” In many ways, this applies to soulful Texas-born musician Cas Haley, who took a hiatus after a freak skiing accident which resulted in canceling two tours, vocal rest and spending a few months retraining himself to sing in a new way. After numerous months of physical and vocal therapy, Cas Haley is back on his feet stronger than ever, releasing his latest album More Music More Family. The album is a direct reflection of his road to recovery and is inspired by his wife and children during this time.

“Slow down and be aware of the blessing of family,” Haley says. “That’s where the light comes from.”

“It was a pretty scary period for me, but it gave me a lot of time home with family, time to reflect on my career, and time to work on new music.” Haley says. “Having been on the road non-stop for years, and missing key time watching my kids grow up was also taking a toll.”

Recorded over a month at Steelgrass Farm in Kauai, Hawaii with help from fellow musician Tubby Love, More Music More Family will be released digitally on November 6th, 2015. Title track and opener “More Music More Family” is a luxurious composition, building from a deep groove as Haley harmonizes with guest artist Mike Love. Everything about this track and its fellow ballads exude class and inspiration. Haley’s influences can be heard throughout the album as the tracks seamlessly sway between reggae, soul, blues and rock.

“I’ve traded in my band van for a camping trailer, so I can bring my family with me.” Haley adds, “I’m headed with my family to Kauai, Hawaii, to Steelgrass Farms, where I will be able to work with Tubby Love, Will Lydgate, and a few others, while experiencing it all with my kids and wife.”

As the album goes on, Haley’s vocals become more infectious. The arrangements grow more extravagant and expansive, as well as the list of collaborators which feature Trevor Hall, Mike Love, and Freewill & Drew Misik. The album touches on the style of both Haley’s 2010 album Connection, which was recorded in a controlled studio, and 2012’s album La Si Dah captured in full takes with no overdubs. Haley and team wanted More Music More Family to bridge those two environments, capturing the organic feeling of a “live” album with the high fidelity of a studio recording.

With More Music More Family, Haley knows how to deliver the pure essence of each song, modulating his performances so they match the overall grand productions. That’s no small feat and More Music More Family is no small album. The album demands attention and willfully deserves it.

Preview and download More Music More Family on

More Music More Family track listing

  1. More Music More Family (feat. Mike Love)
  2. Whole (feat. Tubby Love)
  3. Before It’s Too Late
  4. Hold Me
  5. Man Inside
  6. Will You Be Ready
  7. Hold Up My Heart (feat. Trevor Hall)
  8. I Got You
  9. Big Hope (feat. Freewill & Drew Misik)
  10. Ryan’s Prayer
  11. We Learn
  12. Set Forth Into Motion

Cas Haley “More Music More Family” Featuring Mike Love

Release date November 6, 2015 • Mailboat Records

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for cas haley

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments