Clay G debuts with new album ‘Forged in Fyah’

Clay G debuts with new album ‘Forged in Fyah’

Tight guitar riffs, melodic vocals and catchy lyrics, making the listener involuntarily bob to the beat, sums up Clay G’s debut album, Forged in Fyah. The LP does not skimp on its delivery, thanks to many guest artists including Peetah Morgan (of Morgan Heritage), Lutan FyahFanton MojaJah Sun, Benjah, Nikki Burt, Lion Fyah, Natural Vybz, Maad T-Ray (of Tribal Seeds) and more.

“It was evident that reggae was where we belonged and the result is Forged in Fyah.”

The album as a whole is wonderfully orchestrated and creates an excellent portrait in its entirety. Clay G comments, “This album comes from a spiritual place of redemption. Most of my life I spent running the streets — hustling and selling drugs in order to pay for my worldly lifestyle. That life caught up to me and, after serving my sentence, I decided to dedicate my life to Christ and start a new journey towards spiritual enlightenment. After creating hip hop music for some time, I wanted to switch directions, as reggae was always my favorite genre of music. In 2017, my musical and spiritual friend Tony B and I started working on our first reggae album. It was evident that reggae was where we belonged and the result is Forged in Fyah.”

Album opener “God Army” is a full-throttle album blowout, with Clay G putting his best foot forward. Tracks like “Gi Mi Dat Love,” “Can I” and “2 Palm Trees” have crushing melodies that trade the spotlight with wonderful guitar riffs multiple times throughout the songs, while the rhythm section grounds them in constant beats, maintaining the momentum between heavier and softer shifts.

From the epic sound of the first moments of opening track “God Army,” your instinct will tell you Clay G’s new album is going to be a great listen — and your instinct is right! It’s an amazingly structured piece, fueled by energy and filled with appeal and purpose. All in all, this release is a welcomed relief in an uncertain time.

Purchase or stream ‘Forged in Fyah’ album:

Track listing:

  1. God Army, feat. Peetah Morgan & Tony B
  2. Can I, feat. Benjah, Jah Sun, Nikki Burt & Tony B
  3. Gi Mi Dat Love, feat. Natural Vybz, Nikki Burt & Tony B
  4. No Idiot, feat. Isismatic
  5. God’s Timing, feat. Natural Vybz & Tony B
  6. Pon Point, feat. Natural Vybz & Tony B
  7. Zion Train, feat. Lutan Fyah & Tony B
  8. Holding On To Joy, feat. Nikki Burt
  9. 2 Palm Trees, feat. Brady Shammar
  10. Reggae State of Mind, feat. Tony B
  11. Shadows of Your Wings, feat. Tony B
  12. Ride With My Baby Tonight, feat. Tony B
  13. Natty Dreads
  14. Blessings, feat. Tony B
  15. Each One, feat. Fantan Moja & Tony B
  16. Down The Road

Clay G “Can I” featuring Natural Vybz, Tony B & Nikki Burt

Links: Facebook | Instagram | Soundcloud

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for clay g

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments