For Peace Band ‘Always Love’ album review

Guam musicians, For Peace Band, have been making quite a big splash in the reggae scene not only in Guam, but also throughout North America – making them one of the only bands from Guam to do so! After the release of their first album in 2014, the band has been hard at work touring the country and working on their sophomore album, Always Love, which just so happens to be available as of July 27th on the Rootfire Cooperative imprint! The album’s first single and title track has already been released earlier this month, getting fans especially excited for the release of the full-length LP. For Peace Band is made up of four talented and humble musicians: Ronald “RJ” Pereira (Guitar/Vocals), Freddy Bordallo (Drums/Vocals), Jacob Iosia (Keys/Vocals) and Danton Cruz (Bass/Vocals). The band quickly received recognition at home, winning the 2014 Island Music Awards for Best Original Song and 2015 Island Music Awards for Best Reggae Band.

“Always Love” perfectly showcases the band’s many talents and inspirations.

Always Love perfectly showcases the band’s many talents and inspirations. This is evident from drummer/vocalist Freddy’s signature and crisp drum fills on songs like “Rarest Flower”, not to mention his soulful lyrics and vocals on that track, to more socially-conscious and militant roots reggae songs like “Moving Out of Babylon”. Keysie/vocalist Jacob never fails to keep your head bobbing with his heavy roots riddims. “Judgement Day” is another track off the album that emulates this vibe, which, fittingly, also happens to feature Nathan of Iya Terra. As I made my way through the album for the first time, I kept thinking, “Okay, this is my favorite song off the album”… but it just kept getting better and better! The track “Revival” begins with a groovy guitar solo before paying tribute to rock reggae roots legends and inspirations, such as Gregory Issacs, Steel Pulse, Freddie McGregor, Bob Marley, Aswad, UB40 and many, many more. This song also features Star of The Steppas who mentions more reggae icons like King Yellowman, Third World and Burning Spear. Songs like “I Remember” and “Be Alright”, sung by Jacob Iosia, give off a cool and deadly vibe. “Chatty Mouth” is another heavy track that chants down ego and preaches about humbling yourself. A repeating trend throughout the entire album is the band’s positive message. Tracks like “Jah Guide”, “Chance to Grow” and the title track “Always Love” remind you to just be yourself, give thanks for life, show the world love and know that everything will be alright because Jah is always guiding. FPB effortlessly sends you these messages while making you feel like you’re sitting on a beach on the island of Guam.

Lookout for the next time For Peace Band comes touring through your town, for they put on a great show!

Purchase or stream Always Love album:

Track listing:

  1. Always Love
  2. Chance To Grow
  3. Move Out Of Babylon
  4. Be Alright
  5. Rarest Flower
  6. Chatty Mouth
  7. Revival
  8. Judgement Day
  9. Got To Try
  10. Secret Recipe
  11. Remember
  12. Jah Guide
  13. Love #42

Links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for for peace band

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments