Kacey Musgraves explores life’s ‘Deeper Well’ in new album

Kacey Musgraves explores life’s  ‘Deeper Well’ in new album

Kacey Musgraves’ latest album, Deeper Well, is a heartfelt exploration of life’s beauty and the depths found in everyday moments. Released on March 15th, 2024 through Interscope/MCA Nashville, this album marks Musgraves’ fifth studio release and sees her reuniting with producers Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian.

From the opening chords of “Cardinal”, Deeper Well invites you into a warm, acoustic embrace, carried by Musgraves’ raw and honest vocals. The album is rooted in appreciating life’s small gestures, those escaping instances that hold immense significance.

Kacey Musgraves encourages us to cherish these moments and not lose sight of what makes us us. 

Thematically, Deeper Well explores the grand ideas of surrender and acceptance, a testament to Musgraves’ personal and artistic growth. For instance, take her title track “Deeper Well”: Kacey pours her heart and maturation into her lyrics when she sings, “I used to wake and bake // Roll out of bed, hit the gravity bong that I made and start the day // For a while, it got me by.” She shares a piece of herself that is open and raw, proclaiming her state of mind was just enough to get her through good times and challenging life-changing absolutes. Kacey Musgraves goes into a deep existential realization in her next verse as she sings, “So, I’m getting rid of the habits that I feel are really good at wasting my time // No regrets, baby.” A deeply radical about-face that ultimately jettisons her life into the path she is on now. 

We roll into “The Architect” where Kacey ponders life’s complexities, while “Dinner with Friends” mellows on the mysteries of existence. Musgraves approaches these topics with a newfound maturity and understanding, reflecting her journey of self-realizations and growth.

Recorded at New York’s legendary Electric Lady Studio, the album’s sound leans towards folk and 70s soft pop, reminiscent of icons like Carole King and the unique harmonizing group Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. Musgraves’ songwriting paints a clear scene that transports listeners into her world. Despite its introspective nature, Deeper Well holds a soothing flow, offering a sense of solace in turbulent times.

While the album boasts a gentle sound, Musgraves’ signature edge is not lost.

Though less pointed than her previous work, Musgraves’ classic wit and charm still shine through, adding depth to the album’s tone.

Deeper Well is an accolade to Kacey Musgraves’ evolution as an artist and individual. It’s an introspective journey that encourages listeners to embrace life’s subtleties and find beauty in its simplicity. With this album, Musgraves cements her status as a storyteller of the human experience, inviting us to dive deeper into the well of our own lives.

Kacey Musgraves – “Too Good To Be True”

Track listing:

  1. Cardinal
  2. Deeper Well
  3. Too Good to be True
  4. Moving Out
  5. Giver / Taker
  6. Sway
  7. Dinner with Friends
  8. Heart of the Woods
  9. Jade Green
  10. The Architect
  11. Lonely Millionaire
  12. Heaven Is
  13. Anime Eyes
  14. Nothing to be Scared Of

Stream ‘Deeper Well’ on Spotify:

Links: Facebook | X | Instagram | Website

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for kacey musgraves

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments