Iration ‘Hotting Up’ album review

It’s been a long two years since Iration put out a studio album, which is understandable, given their countless miles in the road. The long-awaited album titled Hotting Up does not disappoint. It’s a further development and refinement in Iration’s songwriting which can definitely be heard in their latest album. It’s no surprise since Iration has put together an all-star team of collaborators, producers and co-writers including David Manzoor (Lupe Fiasco, R. Kelly, Lloyd), GRAMMY Award-nominated mixer Mark Needham (Imagine Dragons, The Killers, Fleetwood Mac) and engineer Will Brierre (Imagine Dragons, Youngblood Hawk, Chris Isaak).

Hotting Up is an album that’s guided by their gradually growing influences

Hotting Up is an album that’s guided by their gradually growing influences as well as an aspiration to not be cornered into one specific genre all the time. You get a strong shot of alternative surf-rock off with “Reelin'” which is an ambiguous, summer  tune. Iration still sticks to their laidback appeal and it’s no surprise how their full-length has shaped up. In doing so, they’ve crafted a thoughtful, glowing album that in one way or another sways you to kick up your feet and enjoy the sunset. Concise, catchy guitar riffs and basslines found in “Lost and Found” and title track “Hotting Up” complete the package.

“‘Reelin’ is the song we feel best encapsulates the direction of our sound on the new album,” lead singer and guitarist Micah Pueschel explains. “Big drums, hard-hitting bass and synth and rocking guitars. Turn it up in your stereo and let it work. Stoked for you to hear it!!”

As usual, Iration is kicking things off big with the new release. Similar to the 2013 and 2014 Automatic tour which had support from Natty Vibes, The Movement, Fortunate Youth, Through the Roots and Micah Brown. Iration is preparing for their 26 date nationwide “Hotting Up Tour” which will feature The Green, The Movement and Hours Eastly. The tour kicks off Thursday, October 8, 2015

Preview and download Hotting Up on

Hotting Up track listing

  1. Reelin
  2. Stay Awake
  3. Lost and Found
  4. Midnight
  5. Hotting Up
  6. Nothing At All
  7. 867
  8. Guns Out
  9. You Know You Don’t Mind

Hotting Up teaser video

Release Date: August 28, 2015 • IRATION LLC

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for iration

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments