Ozomatli’s ‘Non-Stop: Mexico to Jamaica’ album review

In their latest release, the Latin band, Ozomatli, has compiled some classic Latin songs, and with help from Sly & Robbie, has transformed these songs into some hip, reggae-infused music. In their album, Nonstop: Mexico to Jamaica, the band has gotten together with some of the most influential artists in the reggae and Latin music scene, and brought even more unity through music.

the band has gotten together with some of the most influential artists…

If reggae listeners are unfamiliar with Ozomatli, it must be well-noted that the band has slipped through fingers of the reggae scene. That is because the band has often been known for their funk, hip-hop, and Latin flair. In fact, one cannot totally categorize Ozomatli because they are simply cultural ambassadors, as recognized by their hometown of Los Angeles.

Some reggae-rock artists, however, have taken note of the high-energy and diversity that is Ozomatli. For instance, they were part of Slightly Stoopid’s Closer to the Sun Festival in 2015, which took place in Puerto Morelos, Mexico and included such bands as SOJA, Iration, and Pepper, as well as Slightly Stoopid, of course!

Ozomatli’s release of Nonstop: Mexico to Jamaica includes such songs as “Besame Mucho” (ft. Herb Alpert), “Tragos Amargos,” “Volver Volver” (ft. Mariachi Divas), “Como La Flor”, and “Evil Ways”. The bass in practically non-stop, the guitar has that certain Latin flair, and the unity through deep reggae vibes is apparent. Also, Ozomatli’s notorious fingerprints are in each track. This is a MUST for all Ozomatli fans!

For more information, check out their music on various music outlets, or visit their website.

Preview and download Nonstop: Mexico to Jamaica on

Track listing

  1. Eres
  2. Como la Flor
  3. Oye Mi Amor
  4. Bésame Mucho (feat. Herb Alpert)
  5. Noa Noa (feat. Juanes)
  6. La Bamba (feat. Kyle McDonald)
  7. Solamente una Vez (feat. Gaby Moreno)
  8. Andar Conmigo (feat. Regulo Caro)
  9. De Paisano a Paisano
  10. Evil Ways
  11. Tragos Amargos
  12. Volver Volver (feat. Mariachi Divas)
  13. Land of 1000 Dances (feat. Glove & Chali 2na)
  14. Come and Get Your Love

Ozomatli “Como La Flor”

Links: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Website
Release Date: May 5, 2017 • Copyright: (C) 2017 Cleopatra Records

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for Ozomatli

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments