The Nextmen vs Gentleman’s Dub Club

British dub band, Gentleman’s Dub Club, and UK songwriting/DJ duo, The Nextmen, have joined forces to create an incredible 12-track album titled Pound for Pound. Gentleman’s Dub Club began building a reputation for themselves by playing live, high-energy shows from places like Goa to Glastonbury to France to Poland and more. The Nextmen had similar beginnings, playing DJ sets all over the world for festivals, private parties and even ski resorts throughout the Alps. Both groups have released various mixtapes, albums and other works throughout the years, but this is the first time the two have come together to collaborate on a full-length album.

The entire album is extremely eclectic. No two tracks sound the same.

Pound for Pound is set to be released on June 22nd, with two singles already making waves: the latter of the two “See You Next Tuesday”, featuring Kiko Bun, and the first single titled “Rudeboy” featuring Gardna just dropped a music video! The entire album is extremely eclectic. No two tracks sound the same. It features reggae, dub, dancehall, hip-hop, ska and grime royalty, as well as many special guest artists such as Joe Dukie (Fat Freddy’s Drop), Chali 2na (Jurassic 5), Eva Lazarus, Kiko Bun, Hollie Cook, P Diggs (Shapeshifter), Gardna, J Man & Parly B. The various blends of sounds create a fun and infectious energy with heavy bass lines, soulful horn sections, smooth and sometimes fast vocals, and that infamous reggae skank mixed with a dubtronic sound. Like I said before, the two groups are all-embracing of many genres, which gives this UK album a universal sound!

Want more than just a digital copy? The guys in The Nextmen and Gentleman’s Dub Club have started a campaign to help fund the vinyl release of the album. The campaign is being pushed through PledgeMusic. You can visit the campaign here and get your hands on some awesome vinyls and other fun goodies, like your own signed vinyl of the record, a CD album, a digital download of Pound for Pound, signed boxing gloves from the video shoot, online music lessons and so much more! Don’t sleep on it — the campaign ends June 20th! This one-of-a-kind album, Pound for Pound, is available now for pre-order.

Pre-order or donate to the Pound for Pound album:

Track listing:

  1. Highs And Lows (feat. Joe Dukie)
  2. Spooky (feat. Hollie Cook & Kiko Bun)
  3. Rudeboy (feat. Gardna)
  4. See You Next Tuesday (feat. Kiko Bun)
  5. Holla My Name (feat. Chali 2na & P Diggs)
  6. Misty Eyes (feat. Eva Lazarus)
  7. One Horse Town (feat. J Man)
  8. Running Scared (feat. Parly B, Eva Lazarus & Gardna)
  9. County Line (feat. Kiko Bun)
  10. Raised On The Amen (feat. Gardna)
  11. Done It Again (feat. Kiko Bun)
  12. Pristine (feat. Eva Lazarus & Gardna)

The Nextmen links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Gentleman’s Dub Club links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments