Legendary group, Dub Pistols, releases groundbreaking album ‘Frontline’

Legendary group, Dub Pistols, releases groundbreaking album ‘Frontline’

The legendary U.K. party-starters Dub Pistols dropped a banger of an album titled Frontline on March 10 via Cyclone Records. There is absolutely not one dull moment, they are kicking it way beyond your typical musical scale on this one. The group is a multicultural groundbreaking collective have morphed a variety of times, taking in dub, punk, jungle, ska, breakbeat, hip-hop and a whole lot more. It’s been a long road traveled since the breakthrough 1998 album Point Blank. They have continued to own the reigns and the live stage presence in multiple genres.

The group has toured all over the world and continues to push the envelope with original tracks that are unduplicated by any. Their long-time strength and resilience is evident and they have always stayed within their signature sounds while reinventing themselves on every album. 

On 2023’s Frontline the band is bringing the summer vibes all the way through the tracks! Featuring artists such as Ragga Twins, Natty Campbell, Freestylers and Cheshire Cat, the album is a testimony that Dub Pistols are the true masters of their craft. These gents are incomparable to any band, yes I said it theres no one out there that sounds like them.

Some of my personal favorites on this album is “Nice Up” (featuring Horseman) gets you up and going! “M16″ (feat. Ragga Twins) has a sound that is fused with reggae, ska, techno, breakbeat —

a beautiful arrangement motivating and exciting sounds!

The album jumps between classic ragga beats (“That’s No Lie”) to darker tracks harboring a ‘Ghost Town’ aesthetic (“Moving On”), to nostalgic tracks from Dub Pistols’ hedonistic days (“Soundboy Killa”). The band blends a Western theme running throughout its music veins, each track has special appearances from artists that are part of the Dub Pistol close-knit family. It’s clear they are ready to take over!

Founder of the group Barry Ashworth shared, “Frontline is a reference to 1981 in Brixton’s railton road where the riots were started against a backdrop of economic depression, racism and a general dislike for the establishment and its economic policy. Causing so much poverty at the time, I feel this is as relevant today with the cost-of-living crisis, austerity and national strikes everywhere.”

Artist Links: Website | Spotify | Instagram | Facebook | YouTube

Frontline Track Listing

  1. Nice Up (feat. Horseman)
  2. Nah Give It Up (feat. Horseman)
  3. Moving On (feat. Natty Campbell)
  4. That’s No Lie (Dub Pistols vs. Chopstick Dubplate, feat. Demolition Man)
  5. Soundboy Killa (feat. Natty Campbell)
  6. Better Has Come (feat. Lindy Layton)
  7. Spitfire (feat. Cheshire Cat)
  8. Frontline (feat. Cheshire Cat)
  9. Jump On It (Dub Pistols & Freestylers, feat. Top Cat)
  10. M16 (feat. Ragga Twins)
  11. If You Ever Get A Draw (feat. Myki Tuff)
  12. Love (feat. Seanie T & Chezidek)

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Tour dates for Dub Pistols

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments