Nowell Family Foundation unveil ‘The House That Bradley Built’ compilation

Nowell Family Foundation unveil ‘The House That Bradley Built’ compilation

On July 21st, the Nowell Family Foundation announced The House that Bradley Built — a compilation vinyl exclusive, featuring creative renditions of Sublime originals. The foundation paired up with LAW Records to produce the album and features an all star cast. The proceeds will benefit, Bradley’s House: a highly-anticipated, six-bed drug rehab and recovery center founded by the Nowell Family. 

As many can remember, Bradley Nowell passed away from an overdose at the early age of 28. Bradley’s family founded the Nowell Family Foundation in hopes of preventing a similar tragedy from happening to again and plans to open Bradley’s House as soon as they can raise the appropriate funds to do so. The recovery center aims to provide “top-level clinical care, including medical detox” for “people in the music industry with opiate addiction, regardless of their financial situation”. 

The album features many of LAW Records‘ artists, such as Vana Liya, who will grace us with a sultry version of “The Ballad of Johnny Butt”. Another LAW artist, Tunnel Vision, will be covering “Pool Shark”, while Ballyhoo! will show us what they can do with “S.T.P.”.

A true testament to Sublime, the album features punk, ska, reggae, hip hop and more.

With bands like Pennywise, The Skints, The Descendants, Half Pint, Pepper, Common Kings and beyond, you are sure to have a mash-up worth purchasing and remembering for years to come! Artist Jason J. paired up with SoCal favorite HIRIE for their own rendition of “Saw Red”, originally performed by Sublime and No Doubt’s Gwen Stefani — a favorite of hardcore Sublime fans. If you happened to have caught festivals with HIRIE on the bill the latter part of last year, you may have even had a chance to preview the duet live!

The album finishes up with an acoustic breakdown of “The Rivers of Babylon”, performed by Bradley’s father, Jim Nowell, and Bradley’s son, Jakob Nowell. Jim states, “Bradley’s music lives on in the hearts and minds of his fans and fellow musicians. Through the combined effort of everyone who has been touched by his music, Bradley’s House will happen. People will be transformed. Lives will be saved. And, it will truly be the house that Bradley built. Thank you all for helping to keep my son’s music alive.”

You can pre-order the vinyl this Friday July 24th, which will be released to all on September 4th. LAW Records will be releasing two songs off of the album every Friday on digital streaming outlets. The first two singles off of the compilation dropping this weekend is Pepper’s “Work That We Do” and Long Beach Dub Allstars’ “Little District”.

Pre-save here:



Track listing:

  1. Common Kings – “Garden Grove”
  2. Descendents – “Hope”
  3. Long Beach Dub Allstars – “Little District”
  4. Half Pint – “Lovin’”
  5. Love – “April 29th, 1992”
  6. Pepper – “Work That We Do”
  7. Johnny Cosmic – “40 Oz. to Freedom”
  8. Trevor Young of SOJA – “Santeria”
  9. HIRIE – “Saw Red” (feat. Jason J.)
  10. Mad Caddies – “New Song”
  11. The Skints – “Get Ready”
  12. Cydeways – “Let’s Go Get Stoned”
  13. The Movement – “Get Out”
  14. Leilani Wolfgramm – “New Realization”
  15. Ballyhoo! – “S.T.P.”
  16. A.R. – “Badfish”
  17. Vana Liya – “The Ballad of Johnny Butt”
  18. The Expanders – “Scarlet Begonias”
  19. Jim Lindberg of Pennywise – “Boss D.J.”
  20. RAS 1 – “Right Back”
  21. Tunnel Vision – “Pool Shark”
  22. Nice Mike – “Don’t Push”
  23. Bert Susanka of The Ziggens – “Big Salty Tears”
  24. Jim and Jake Nowell – “Rivers of Babylon”

‘The House That Bradley Built’ announcement:

Nowell Family Foundation links: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Website

LAW Records links: Facebook | Instagram | Website

Share this article


Become a Patron

Disclaimer: All views presented in this album review are those of the reviewer and not necessarily those of Top Shelf Music.

Get music updates in your inbox

Notify of

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Awesome article! Thank you!!

3 years ago
Reply to  Kellie

Much Appreciated Kellie!

2 years ago

Not sure how No Doubt didnt do a song on this.

Kristy Rose
2 years ago
Reply to  Eric